skip to main content
Site banner
 

Water Skills for Life Providers

Water Skills For Life teacher professional development is conducted by Swimming New Zealand.

Teachers, you qualify for FREE teacher training if your school has a pool. Contact Karen Dalldorf now to secure your FREE training workshop (and poolside support).

Head of Education and Water Safety

Davin Bray. Phone 021 681 503

Auckland Education Advisor

Moe Richardson. Phone 021 804 326

Waikato Education Advisor

Wendy Smith. Phone 029 770 5252

National Aquatic Education and Water Safety Manager/Hawke’s Bay

Karen Dalldorf. Phone 021 649 998

Bay of Plenty Education Advisor

Contact Karen Dalldorf on 021 649 998

Taranaki Education Advisor

Cecilie Elliott. Phone 021 278 2052

Wellington Education Advisor

Lauren McLellan. Phone 021 284 3297

Christchurch Education Advisor

Jackie Mander. Phone 0272 409 627   

 

Water Skills For Life providers by region

Northland

Sport Northland

Contact: Louise Collings Ph: 0274 141 467, E:  louisec@sportnorth.co.nz

Auckland

Aktive - Auckland Sport & Recreation 

Hazel Latoa, hazel.latoa@aktive.org.nz

Find Your Field of Dreams Foundation 

Contact: Rick Pickard, Ph: 027 688 9947,E: rick.pickard@fieldofdreams.org.nz

Waikato

Te Ripo Tapui Limited - Raglan

Contact: Mark Haimona, Ph: 027 584 0408, E: m.haimona@xtra.co.nz

Bay of Plenty

CLM Rotorua 

Contact: Claire Baylis, Swim Rotorua, E: cbaylis@xtra.co.nz

Hawkes Bay

Sport Hawke's Bay 

Contact: Roger Coleman Ph: 06 845 9336, E: rogerc@sporthb.net.nz

Gisborne

Swim for Life Tairawhiti Charitable Trust 

Contact: Carl Newman Ph: 021 839 776, E: carlnewman@xtra.co.nz

Taranaki

Swimming New Zealand

Contact: Cecilie Elliott, Ph: 021 278 2052, E: cecilie@swimming.org.nz

Whanganui

Swimming New Zealand

Contact: Cecilie Elliott, Ph: 021 278 2052, E: cecilie@swimming.org.nz

Manawatu

Swimming New Zealand

Contact: Cecilie Elliott, Ph: 021 278 2052, E: cecilie@swimming.org.nz

Wellington

Porirua City Council

Contact: Phil Waggott Ph: 04 237 1370, E: pmwaggott@hotmail.com

Swimming New Zealand

Contact: Lauren McLellan. Phone 021 284 3297, E:lauren@swimming.org.nz

Marlborough/Tasman

Sport Tasman

Contact: Chris Pugh Ph: 03 546 7910 E: chris.p@sporttasman.org.nz

West Coast/Canterbury

Waimakariri District Council Aquatic Facilities

Contact: Tina Brough Ph: 03 311 8905 ext 7002, E: tina.brough@wmk.govt.nz

Christchurch City Council

Contact: Kew Taggart Ph: 03 941 6902, E: kew.taggart@ccc.govt.nz

Westland Recreation Centre

Claudette Bradley, Ph: 03 744 7156, E: claudette.bradley@greydc.govt.nz

South Canterbury/Otago

Sport Otago 

Contact: Scarlett Hagen, Ph: 027 539 7558, E: shagen@sportotago.co.nz

Southland

Sport Southland

Contact: Kate McRae, Ph: 0800 111 117, E: Kate@reap.co.nz

Beach Education or Surf to School

Surf Life Saving New Zealand

For Auckland, Waikato or Northland email: education@lifesaving.org.nz 

For the rest of New Zealand email: surfeducation@surflifesaving.org.nz

Safe Boating Education

Coastguard Boating Education

Sarah Psaila Ph: 022 1978 295, safeboating@boatingeducation.org.nz 

 

For further information about Water Skills for Life, contact Felicity Fozard at Water Safety New Zealand: Felicity@watersafety.org.nz

 
 

wsfl_acc_W

Children learn these skills with Water Skills For Life

Click on each link to read about what's involved with each activity.

Water safety and awareness skills
  • Recognise an emergency for yourself or others. Know who to call for help and how
  • Know, understand and respect water safety rules, hazards and risks around the home, farm and around pools
  • Know, understand and respect water safety rules, hazards and risk in natural environments such as at the beach, offshore, river or lake.
  • Know, understand and respect water safety rules, hazards and risks for water activities such as swimming, water sports and boating
  • Know how and why t make safe decisions for yourself and others
  • Know how to recognise hypothermia and how to treat it
Getting in and out of the water
  • Get in and out of the water safely in any environment.
  • Perform this sequence with a buddy watching: check the depth of the water, check that the area is safe, jump into deep water, float on back for 1 minute to control breathing, return to edge and exit
Going under the water - Submersion
  • Get under water, open eyes and control breathing
  • Pick up an object from under the water
  • Dive from a horizontal position in the water and move underwater for a slow count to five
Floating on the water - Personal Buoyancy
  • Float, then regain feet
  • Control breathing while floating on back for at least 1 minute
  • Scull head-first and/or scull feet first for at least 3 minutes
  • Tread water for at least 3 minutes in deep water
  • Perform this sequence in deep water: correctly fit a lifejacket then tread water, scull, float or a mixture for 3 minutes while controlling breathing. Then return to edge and get out of the water
  • Perform this sequence for five minutes: signal for help while treading water, sculling, floating, or a mixture, and while controlling breathing
Rolling and turning in the water - Orientation
  • Horizontal rotation (front to back and back to front)
  • Horizontal to vertical rotation and vice versa (front or back to upright and return)
  • Vertical rotation (half rotation and full rotation) around the body’s vertical axis
What to do in an emergency - Safety of self and others
  • Float and signal for help with and without a flotation aid
  • Do a reach rescue and a throw rescue with a buddy
  • Perform this sequence: correctly fit a lifejacket, do a step entry into deep water, float in the H.E.L.P. position, then with a couple of buddies or a group form a huddle, return to edge and get out
Moving through the water - Propulsion
  • Move 15m non-stop, using any form of propulsion
  • Move through the water environments of all kinds (currents, waves, depth – in situ or simulated)
  • Move 50m and/or 3 minutes non-stop, confidently and competently – using any form of propulsion on their side, front, back, or a mixture
  • Move 100m and/or 5 minutes non-stop, confidently and competently – using any form of propulsion on their side, front, back, or a mixture

 

 

Click here for the directory to contact a Water Skills for Life instructor.

 
+ Text Size -
Original generation time 0.1236 seconds.