skip to main content
Site banner
 

Aquatic Education Providers

Water Skills For Life teacher professional development:

Swimming New Zealand

National enquiries and Canterbury, Otago/Southland

Contact: Chris Morgan, Ph: 027 240 9627, E: chris@swimming.org.nz

Auckland

Contact: Moe Richardson, Ph: 021 804 326, E; Moe@swimming.org.nz

Waikato

Contact: info@swimming.org.nz

Hawke's Bay

Contact: Karen Dalldorf, Ph 021 649 998,E: karen@swimming.org.nz

Taranaki, Wanganui, Manawatu

Contact: Cecilie Elliott, Ph: 021 278 2052, E: cecilie@swimming.org.nz

Wellington, Wairarapa, Nelson, Marlborough

Contact: info@swimming.org.nz

 

Drowning Prevention Auckland

Contact: Lynley Stewart, Ph: 9 306 0809, E: lynley.stewart@dpanz.org.nz

 

Water Skills For Life providers by region

Northland

Sport Northland

Contact: Louise Collings Ph: 0274 141 467, E:  louisec@sportnorth.co.nz

Auckland

Aktive - Auckland Sport & Recreation 

Contact: Laura Quilter, Ph: 021 159 6606, E: laura.quilter@aktive.org.nz

Find Your Field of Dreams Foundation 

Contact: Rick Pickard, Ph: 027 688 9947,E: rick.pickard@fieldofdreams.org.nz

Drowning Prevention Auckland

Contact: Lynley Stewart, Ph: 9 306 0809, E:  lynley.stewart@dpanz.org.nz

Waikato

Te Ripo Tapui Limited - Raglan

Contact: Mark Haimona, Ph: 027 584 0408, E: m.haimona@xtra.co.nz

Bay of Plenty

BayWave

Contact: Matthew Strange, Ph: 027 839 0556, E: matthew.strange@bayvenues.co.nz

CLM Rotorua 

Contact: Claire Baylis, Swim Rotorua, E: cbaylis@xtra.co.nz

Hawkes Bay

Sport Hawke's Bay 

Contact: Roger Coleman Ph: 06 845 9336, E: rogerc@sporthb.net.nz

Gisborne

Swim for Life Tairawhiti Charitable Trust 

Contact: Carl Newman Ph: 021 839 776, E: carlnewman@xtra.co.nz

Taranaki

Swimming New Zealand

Contact: Cecilie Elliott, Ph: 021 278 2052, E: cecilie@swimming.org.nz

Whanganui

Swimming New Zealand

Contact: Cecilie Elliott, Ph: 021 278 2052, E: cecilie@swimming.org.nz

Manawatu

Kelly Sports

Contact: Zac Topping, Ph: 021 565 398, E: manawatu@kellysports.co.nz

Wellington

Porirua City Council

Contact: Phil Waggott Ph: 04 237 1370, E: pmwaggott@hotmail.com

Marlborough/Tasman

Sport Tasman

Contact: Wendy Bettjeman Ph: 03 546 3309, E: wendy.bet@sporttasman.org.nz

West Coast/Canterbury

Waimakariri District Council Aquatic Facilities

Contact: Tina Brough Ph: 03 311 8905 ext 7002, E: tina.brough@wmk.govt.nz

Contact: Kew Taggart Ph: 03 941 6902, E: kew.taggart@ccc.govt.nz

South Canterbury/Otago

Sport Otago 

Contact: Scarlett Hagen, Ph: 027 539 7558, E: shagen@sportotago.co.nz

Southland

Sport Southland

Contact: Vanessa Hughey, Ph: 03 211 2150, E: vanessa.hughey@sportsouthland.co.nz

Beach Education or Surf to School

Surf Life Saving New Zealand

For Auckland, Waikato or Northland email: education@lifesaving.org.nz 

For the rest of New Zealand email: surfeducation@surflifesaving.org.nz

Safe Boating Education

Coastguard Boating Education

Lisa Campkin Ph: 022 1978 295, lisa.campkin@boatingeducation.org.nz

 

For further information about Water Skills for Life, contact Michelle Reidy at Water Safety New Zealand: wsnz@watersafety.org.nz or phone 04 801 9600

 
 

Children learn these skills with Water Skills For Life

Click on each link to read about what's involved with each activity.

Water safety and awareness skills
Download the teaching resource
  • Recognise an emergency for yourself or others. Know who to call for help and how
  • Know, understand and respect water safety rules, hazards and risks around the home, farm and around pools
  • Know, understand and respect water safety rules, hazards and risk in natural environments such as at the beach, offshore, river or lake.
  • Know, understand and respect water safety rules, hazards and risks for water activities such as swimming, water sports and boating
  • Know how and why t make safe decisions for yourself and others
  • Know how to recognise hypothermia and how to treat it
Getting in and out of the water
Download the teaching resource
  • Get in and out of the water safely in any environment.
  • Perform this sequence with a buddy watching: check the depth of the water, check that the area is safe, jump into deep water, float on back for 1 minute to control breathing, return to edge and exit
Going under the water - Submersion
Download the teaching resource
  • Get under water, open eyes and control breathing
  • Pick up an object from under the water
  • Dive from a horizontal position in the water and move underwater for a slow count to five
Floating on the water - Personal Buoyancy
Download the teaching resource
  • Float, then regain feet
  • Control breathing while floating on back for at least 1 minute
  • Scull head-first and/or scull feet first for at least 3 minutes
  • Tread water for at least 3 minutes in deep water
  • Perform this sequence in deep water: correctly fit a lifejacket then tread water, scull, float or a mixture for 3 minutes while controlling breathing. Then return to edge and get out of the water
  • Perform this sequence for five minutes: signal for help while treading water, sculling, floating, or a mixture, and while controlling breathing
Rolling and turning in the water - Orientation
Download the teaching resource
  • Horizontal rotation (front to back and back to front)
  • Horizontal to vertical rotation and vice versa (front or back to upright and return)
  • Vertical rotation (half rotation and full rotation) around the body’s vertical axis
What to do in an emergency - Safety of self and others
Download the teaching resource
  • Float and signal for help with and without a flotation aid
  • Do a reach rescue and a throw rescue with a buddy
  • Perform this sequence: correctly fit a lifejacket, do a step entry into deep water, float in the H.E.L.P. position, then with a couple of buddies or a group form a huddle, return to edge and get out
Moving through the water - Propulsion
Download the teaching resource
  • Move 15m non-stop, using any form of propulsion
  • Move through the water environments of all kinds (currents, waves, depth – in situ or simulated)
  • Move 50m and/or 3 minutes non-stop, confidently and competently – using any form of propulsion on their side, front, back, or a mixture
  • Move 100m and/or 5 minutes non-stop, confidently and competently – using any form of propulsion on their side, front, back, or a mixture

 

Click here for the directory to contact a Water Skills for Life instructor.
Click here for Database User Guide and School Resources

 

 

 
Original generation time 0.2372 seconds.
+ Text Size -
Original generation time 1.6500 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0006 seconds.